92. Reflection – 10 Jun 2013

The last couple weeks of a missionary’s mission, they give a reflection and kind of sum up their thoughts or feelings in about a 2-3 minute talk. This was mine.


Brothers and Sisters, I love to stand on mountain summits. I love to look out at the view beneath me. But moreover I love the challenge of the way up.

Before my mission, I was a mountain climber. There is a certain climb right behind the Provo Utah Temple in Rock Canyon. My friends and I would have to climb up a pitch to get to the crack we wanted to climb. Because of the grueling nature of this climb, we nicknamed it Devil’s Crack. We would climb it all the time, but I could never finished it.

Right before my mission, I told my friends that I was going to finish this climb and get to the top of it. When I made it to the top, I had used up all my energy and my hands were bleeding. Hanging off my anchor, I couldn’t believe I had done it. I turned around and was able to see all of Utah County. As I looked down at my route, where I had placed my feet and where I had placed my hands, I had a new perspective. There were some things that I had missed that could have made the climb easier had I noticed them in my ascent.

For the past two years I have been serving my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I have been climbing a crack. I have been giving it my all. I have been sweating and hurting. My hands have bled. I have noticed some things and I have a new perspective. I want to share ten perspectives that I have gained on my mission with you.

  1. I have found that prayer is to think and to listen, more than it is to ask and to tell.
  2. I have found that giving of your time and a listening ear is some of the most valuable service you can offer.
  3. I have found that families take time, planning and love – for they become the future leaders who establish the church.
  4. I have found that we are what we do. We are not what we plan to do, hope to do, or want to do, but simply what we do.
  5. I have found that memorized scriptures fill our lives with virtue and empower us to answer the prayers of others.
  6. I have learned in working with others to show, not tell.
  7. I have learned that an attitude will determine our altitude.
  8. I have come to find that a companion is a mortal, ministering angel.
  9. I know that journals remind you of the tender mercies of Lord. Be sure to write them.
  10. Lastly, I know that when we are consistently obedient, consistently diligent, and consistently accountable, that we will all be consistently miraculous.

I love my Savior. I know he lives.

I share this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.


  SAM_7761 SAM_7820



Leave a comment

Filed under Taichung, Taiwan

Leave a Reply

