72. Instruments – 25 Jan 13

My Dearest Family,

This week we had the opportunity to stock our stock room full of 1,500 Books of Mormon. This book has come to have great meaning to me throughout my mission. Recently at zone conference President Bishop invited us to start over and read it again looking specifically for application to our everyday lives.

This week during some challenging times preparing for printing deadlines for the English Program, I felt a million little things pressing me for time! Mounting stress would just leave my head spinning. In this moment I paused, pulled out my little worn copy of The Book of Mormon, and picked up where I had left off. I read in Mosiah and I got to a verse that caused me to really ponder:

And thus they were instruments in the hands of God in bringing many to the knowledge of the truth, yea, to the knowledge of their Redeemer.

Mosiah 27:36

The word instruments caught my attention. In every different field, in every different occupation, many different instruments are used to compare, create, measure, or examine. Each of these instruments, tools if you will, have very specific components that work together to provide the needed function.

I have found that in my missionary work, walking around testifying of the reality of a living Savior, showing others that their is a higher plane to live on through belief in Jesus Christ, that acting on faith brings results. The Book of Mormon, in companionship with the Holy Bible, has been one of my most vital components as a instrument for the Lord–an instrument to teach truth.

I bear testimony of the Book of Mormon. In the days that try us the most, this sacred book contains the answers to give us strength to carry on. I testify this book is true. I found this truth from my own experiences as I have read, pondered, and applied the teaching of Jesus Christ contained within. I know without a doubt that any book not of such a divine origin could not and would not fill my soul with the brilliant light and inspiring guidance that I receive from The Book of Mormon.

Regardless of how many times you have read The Book of Mormon, or if you have never heard of or touched it, I urge you to take a moment to pick it up, or even search it online, and take a few moments to allow the word of God to fill your mind and leave you singing “the song of redeeming grace”.

I love each of you and wish you a wonderful week!

-Elder Spencer K. Bailey




1 Comment

Filed under Mission Office, Taichung, Taiwan

One response to “72. Instruments – 25 Jan 13

  1. Thank you so much Elder Bailey!
    I can feel the Spirit so strong through your words! I really want some encouragements right now and it’s exactly what I need! 😀

    Sister Guan

Leave a Reply

