Elder Bailey’s Letter – 19 Jul 11

Sorry I am posting this late. I am in the process of moving my aged aunt from northern Utah to a care center here in Utah Valley and I have been swamped this past week.  But here it is, better late than never!

My Dearest Family!!!!

How are you all?  I love hearing from each of you! Thanks for all the encouragement, love, and prayers!  I just wanted to share with you what it has felt like being a missionary!  It is hard to describe the excitement of serving the lord.  However, I feel it is summed up excellently in Alma 26: 13, 15-16 “Have we not great reasons to rejoice?…. We have been instruments in the loard’s hands of doing this great and marvelous work.  Therefore, let us glory… in the Lord; yea, we will REJOICE!”  I truly feel everyday at the MTC is a rejoicing day!  Where the spirit of the lord is, there is peace and joy.

Recently, I have been thinking alot about desire (Desire in Mandarin=Kewang)!  I have actually been studying it as well!  I recently read “Desire” by Elder Oaks in this last ensign (phenomonal by the way)  he said something quite thought provoking.  “Desire dictates our priorities, priorities shape our choices, and choices determine out actions.  The desires we act on determine our changing, our achieveing, and our becoming.”  Wow, how great is this statement!  We are told by an Apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ if we Set our desires high, it will determine our becoming.  I have been thinking recently about some of my own personal desires.  What are my Truest goals?  Well as I think about it my truest desire is centered around my family whom I love with all my heart!  My desire lies in the realm of eterenity.  I most desire having an Eternal Family.  It is these desires which shape our daily actions and through our priorities.  I testify, as we set righteous desires and make them priorities we will we miraculous changes in our life!

Recently, Elder Crandall and I had a desire to invite our investigator Huang Xing Ye (Dong Laoshi) to be baptized.  Though this was just one of our progressive investigators in the MTC this desire shaped our study priorities, determined the choices we made in preparation, and eventually led to us extending the most joyful of all gifts to our teacher as we taught our lesson.  Our savior gave us the gift of baptism so that we might find joy!  If you haven’t recently go back and read the committments you renew with the Lord each Sunday when you take the sacrament (Mosiah 18:8-10)  For when we were baptized we made a covenant or two way promise with God.  As we remember our side of the promise we have great blessings in store!!!

The language is slowly starting to come!  Though we can’t always speak perfect mandarin we are seeing improvements!  A recent goal we made was to bear our testimony to three random people each day in mandarin and have our companions translate!  As we have done this we have learned how much we truly do know, and our capacity to speak with the tongue of angels of which Nephi spoke (2 Nephi 32:3)

I am near out of time, but I love you with all my heart!  I urge you to study the word of God through the scriptures as well as the Ensign and other modern mediums!  I know they can help us set righteous desires in our hearts!

Dont forget to Dear Elder, I love hearing from you, real letters are good too! 😀

Mom, ps we could use a non-plugin smelly thing for our room.  We actually REALLY need it.  We all work out in there and its getting kinda nasty!

Till next Tuesday, God be with you!

-Elder Spencer K Bailey

Leave a comment

Filed under Missionary Training Center

Leave a Reply

